ALERT - Visitation
YouTube icon image 

Frequently Asked Questions

Parole Division

What are the rules of supervision?

Persons released on parole and mandatory supervision must abide by certain rules while in the community and are subject to revocation or other sanctions for violations of the rules. Rules of release may include, but are not limited to:

  • Report as instructed to the supervising Parole Officer;
  • Obey all municipal, county, state, and federal laws;
  • Obtain the Parole Officer’s written permission before changing residence;
  • Obtain the Parole Officer’s written permission before leaving the state;
  • Do not own, possess, sell, or control any firearm, prohibited weapon, or illegal weapon as defined in the Texas Penal Code; do not lawfully carry any weapon; and do not use or attempt or threaten to use any tool, implement, or object or threaten to cause any bodily injury;
  • Avoid persons or places of disreputable or harmful character;
  • Do not enter into any agreement to act as an “informer” or special agent for any law enforcement agency without specific written approval of the Parole Division; and
  • Abide by any special conditions imposed by a Parole Panel, whether imposed upon release and listed on the release certificate or imposed at a later date.

What is “gate money”?

Gate money is $50.00 and a bus ticket provided to the released offender on parole or mandatory supervision by the Correctional Institutions Division to help with transportation to the community to which they are being paroled to. They will receive an additional $50.00 upon reporting to their parole office.

How often does an offender report to his Parole Officer?

Depends on their level of supervision and will be addressed at the client’s initial visit.

Can offenders be supervised in other states?

Yes. Texas has an agreement with other states, the District of Colombia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands to send and receive offenders for supervision. It is called the “Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision”. The website is www.interstatecompact.org. Offenders approved to reside in other states must obey the rules of both Texas and the supervising state.

What is Parole in Absentia (PIA)?

A parole review for eligible offenders who are incarcerated in a non-TDCJ facility.

What happens if offenders violate the terms of release?

For minor administrative rule violations, the Parole Division may, at its discretion, utilize local sanctions to re-direct behavior, (i.e. counseling, conferences, letter of reprimand) However, any offender who is alleged to have committed a new offense, absconded from supervision, or violated any rules, terms, or conditions may have a warrant issued for his/her arrest.

Do I need to bring clothes for my loved one when he/she is being released?

No, clothes will be provided for them before release.

Where do I go to pick up an offender upon release?

It will depend on what unit they are being released from. Our status line will have that information once a release date is set. The status line number is (512) 406-5202.

Can I pick up my loved one at release?

Yes. Although, a bus ticket will be provided to the offender if alternate transportation is unavailable.

Can family select a halfway house for the offender to live upon release?

No. An offender who has no other resources will be placed into a halfway house as bed space is available.

Will an offender be released early if they finish their program early?

In some instances if the program is completed more than 30 days prior to the target release date the Board of Pardons and Parole will reconsider the release date.

If there is not an IPO (Institutional Parole Officer) at the unit, how can an offender submit an I-60 form?

There is a drop box located on each unit for Parole that the IPO’s regularly check.

Will an offender be informed of why they are denied parole?

Yes. A letter is sent to the offender informing them if they were granted or denied parole.