ALERT - Visitation
YouTube icon image 

TLETS Basic Eligibility Criteria

Texas Law Enforcement Telecommunications System Access (TLETS)

  • Texas Crime Information Center (TCIC)
  • National Crime Information Center (NCIC)
  • Computerized Criminal History (CCH)

The Department of Public Safety (DPS), as Control Terminal Agency (CTA) for the state of Texas, has applied the rules below, which are contained within the Criminal Justice Information Systems (CJIS) Security Policy.

Note: The following criteria applies to Agency positions which require TLETS access for employment.  The TLETS access requirement may be found in the Position Description Minimum Qualifications.

TLETS Basic Eligibility Criteria

Charge Application for Access Existing Access
Felony Conviction Permanent Disqualifier Permanent Revocation of Access
Felony Deferred Adjudication Permanent Disqualifier Suspension of Access for 20 years
Class A Misdemeanor Conviction Permanent Disqualifier Suspension of Access for 10 years
Class A Misdemeanor Deferred Adjudication Permanent Disqualifier Suspension of Access for term of deferral
Class B Misdemeanor Conviction Disqualifier for 10 years Suspension of Access for 10 years
Class B Misdemeanor Deferred Adjudication Disqualifier for 10 years Suspension of Access for term of deferral.
Open Arrest for any Criminal Offense
(Felony or Misdemeanor)
Disqualifier until disposition Maintain Access Pending Court Disposition
Family Violence Conviction Permanent Disqualifier Permanent Revocation of Access

This System Access Policy applies to individuals with network access to CJI systems, as well as, an employee who may have access to an area where this information is received, maintained or stored either manually or electronically if having access is not part of their job. (i.e. custodian, maintenance)

Both Class A and Class B convictions/deferred adjudications can receive an agency sponsored waiver after 5 years from final disposition. If approved, agency sponsored waivers are only valid at that agency and cannot transfer with the individual.

Offenses that were committed while the individual was a juvenile will receive the same consideration and will be held to the same standard as adult offenses. Agencies may apply for an agency sponsored waiver for the individual within 5 years from the final disposition regardless of the level of the offense (felony or misdemeanor), unless the individual was tried as an adult.

The Department will allow access to DPS and FBI systems when an individual has a valid active license from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE). The Department will not revoke access as long as the TCOLE license remains valid and active regardless of any criminal history background.


(Revised: 03/23/2017)

Page updated: 08/24/2017